Mahone Bay operates under a Council/CAO system of municipal government as outlined under the Municipal Government Act. The CAO and his staff oversee the management of all Departments of the Town and implement the decisions of Council, its Boards and Commissions.

The Town Office staff consists of four full time persons:CAO Jim Wentzell, Deputy Town Clerk Maureen Hughes, Assistant Treasurer Crystal Berringer and Accounting Clerk Kim Boutilier.

The Town provides several services through Departments of the Town, services provided by other municipalities and joint ventures with other municipal units. The Town also operates its own Electric Utility, Water Utility and two Cemeteries in the Town.

All payments for Town Services are paid through the Town Hall. This includes tax bills, utility bills, fines and various permits. Inquiries can be made by calling 902-624-8327 or emailing

James A. Wentzell, CAO

James A Wentzell, CAOJim has over 37 years experience of financial and management experience working in public life holding several positions with the Town of Bridgewater, Town of Lunenburg, South Shore Regional School Board, Nova Scotia Department of Education and has been CAO of the Town since 2004.

In 1972 Jim received a Diploma in Business Administration-Accounting from NSEIT in Cape Breton. He later completed the four year Municipal Administration program in Municipal Administration finishing top in his class that year and was awarded the Guy Henson Award.

Jim has served on the executive of the Association of Nova Scotia Administrators and the Financial Management Institute of Canada. He has served on several committees for both organizations. Jim is the proud father of two grown children, Mark & Alicia and he resides in the Town of Mahone Bay.

Office Staff

Correspondence to the Town Office should be sent to:

Town of Mahone Bay
PO Box 530
493 Main Street
Mahone Bay, NS
B0J 2E0